Home > Windows > Your computer appears to be correctly configured, but the device or resource (Web proxy) (DNS Server) is not responding.

Your computer appears to be correctly configured, but the device or resource (Web proxy) (DNS Server) is not responding.

So I came across my first issue. I was trying to connect a Verizon jetpack mifi 4620l to a users laptop which was a Lenovo x220. I had first tested it on my laptop to make sure the service was connected and that it was connecting properly. Everything was fine and I was able to connect to the internet no problems. Now I headed to the users office and attempted to do the same but when I tried to open a browser I was prompted with the “your computer appears to be correctly configured, but the device or resource (Web proxy) is not responding.” issue. So now I attempt to troubleshoot the issue with no success. The Verizon jetpack was working fine, it was connected and was sending and receiving packets and according to the network connection page it was accessing the internet. But I could not get to any websites. Time was short and I wasn’t finding a solution so I spoke to the level 2 expert at my job and a solution was found.

1. Open explorer.
2. Press the tab key to get the menu bar.
3. Click on tools.
4. Click on internet options.
5. Click on the advanced tab.
6. Click on the restore advanced settings button.
7. And then click the reset button.

And finally the browser was able to access Web pages. Success.

Categories: Windows Tags: ,
  1. bigtom41
    June 4, 2013 at 11:43 am

    Spent hours faffing about trying to sort this problem on an old company laptop, took seconds to sort the problem with your advice. May you live forever!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

